One, two, three… run with me…

THREE MORE RUNS TO GO!! In the increasing humidity, we hit the 100km mark today! We figure it’s a good thing too, not only for our feet, but also because the supplement box is empty and our poor little ducked-taped support bike (Bill Ferny), has had enough. His brakes went, he’s got no front bearings, and the wheel rubs in three different places! The downhill road into Dar is a bit sketchy for more than us runners!

Erick Jentink arrived yesterday to join us for the finish and we’re very happy to add to our growing crowd for the finish on Monday. Although the end is so near, us runners can’t quite believe it yet. What a day it will be! Thanks for all the continued support.

Erin

12 Responses to “One, two, three… run with me…”

  1. Renee Kuyvenhoven Says:

    what day do you arrive back in victoria?! i want to be there to greet you šŸ™‚

  2. Congratulations to all of you (runners and support crew…and parents!). You have accomplished an astounding achievment. I’m looking forward to hearing about your trip this fall.

    In case you miss running, we’ll be at Thetis on Sundays as usual!!! Maybe you’ll come for coffee too.

    Make sure you find a good beach to plunge into when you’re done. I have a mental image of you running up and down the coast looking for a good spot!

    See you soon,
    Sara

  3. Janice & Ernette Says:

    Erin, Reuben, Patrick, Anna, Drew, Syd, David and other family members.

    This is sooooooooo exciting!!! Sorry to hear about the bike, but it has had a remarkable journey too, hasn’t it?! At this point I suspect that you could all practically run on adrenaline alone. I’ll bet that back on the west coast of Namibia you couldn’t even image these next few days.

    Ernette & I wish you all a safe and successful remaining 100km and a fabulous beach holiday in Zanzibar. You have more than earned it.

    Hugs.

  4. Don and Charmaine Lovell Says:

    Wow…three runs left! Congratulations to the See Them Run team. We can only imagine what the experience will be like to see the Indian Ocean loom up on the horizon. We hope that you will all be able to savour and enjoy these last three runs and add more wonderful memories to your adventure.

  5. nathan tiemstra Says:

    GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!
    RRRRRRRRRRRUUUUUUUUBBBBBBBBBBEEEEEEEEEEENNNNNNN!!!!!
    GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!

  6. Lisa Powell Says:

    Awesome, guys! Congrats on making it so far already! I’m looking forward to the post on Monday. šŸ™‚

  7. sandra brandsma Says:

    Absolutely incredible Erin, Reuben, Patrick, Anna, Drew and company. We are very proud of each one of you and when we tell others what you are doing and soon will have accomplished, they cannot believe it. Physical attributes aside, your mental strength and determination is astounding.

    Look forward to seeing you and hearing more about your adventures soon and may God bless you as you complete this feat.

    Mel and Sandra

  8. Sooo proud. I wish you the best of luck in your last few days! I can’t wait until we are all in Victoria again and can share wild stories. You are all amazing.

  9. Gerry & Carolyn Thompson Says:

    Ah..you’re almost there. Thinking about all of you as you cross the finish line! Simply amazing.

    Gerry and Carolyn Thompson

  10. Nick and Nancy Says:

    I agree with my sister Carolyn. It certainly has been amazing.

    I just wish we could be there to see you guys come in to finish. What an tremendous sight and feeling that would be. Actually I don’t know if I could stand seeing you all come in at the end, as I’m sure I would be crying alot.

    Anyways take care and have a fun time off.
    Love you guys for what you have all accomplished!

    Nick and Nancy Donker

  11. Hi Guys,

    I have been reading your blog over the past few months and am so excited for you! So close to being finished…. I will be praying for you as you finish up this amazing task!

  12. OH WOW this is so exciting!!
    Today is your last run..

    You don’t even know who I am, so I think I have to explain a bit..

    As an international student I went to PCS for the last three months before summer (April to June), my first day in school was your first day of running I think.

    So I heard about you but in the beginning I didn’t get what that was all about. But fortunately I had Drama with Mrs Stewart and everybody there was so crazy about SEE THEM RUN and was raising moneyfor you and everything, so I heard more about you and when I finally got what you’re doing right I was getting really impressed.

    In Drama we looked up what happened to you on your homepage quite a few times. When you were getting health problems I was getting a bit anxious.. but you overcame everything!! Amazing..

    I am so impressed right now, now that you nearly finished your run and you encouraged me a lot.. I mean you were “normal” students and you were planning to run a marathon everyday, for a hundred days and you did it!!!
    It is nothing less than just incredibly amazing and you helped me to see again that everyone can make a difference, I can change the world and I WILL change the world.
    Yah, I’m really excited right now.

    I wish you the best for your last day but also for the end of eveything, for leaving Africa and arriving Victoria and also mentally arriving back in Canada. And I wish you the best for your future!

    God bless,
    Elisa

Leave a Reply

